Fusion: Our Energy Future


Fusion: Our Energy Future


Media is loading



(This information was taken from the Distinguished Scientist Lecture Series Program 1985-1986).

Dr. Rosenbluth is director of the Institute for Fusion Studies at the University of Texas at Austin, where he has taught since 1980. Born in Albany, New York, he received the Ph.D. in physics in 1949 from the University of Chicago and became instructor of physics at Stanford. Prior to his association with the University of Texas, he was research advisor at the General Atomic Lab and professor at the University of California, San Diego, as well as visiting lecturer at Princeton University. Honors accorded to Dr. Rosenbluth have included the E.O. Lawrence Prize, the Albert Einstein Award, and the James Clerk Maxwell Prize in Plasma Physics awarded by the American Physical Society. He has been a member of the National Academy of Sciences since 1969, and has served in a number of professional capacities, including an ongoing consultancy at Livermore and Los Alamos laboratories and membership on the U.S.-U.S.S.R. Joint Commission of the National Research Council.

His Work: Dr. Rosenbluth's work has been a dominant force in the development of plasma physics as a new field of science. He was not only instrumental in laying the foundations of plasma physics and its relationship to magnetohydrodynamics, but his vast volume of work has led the way to a variety of important applications in the field of controlled fusion research. Most recently, his research on anomalous transport caused by magnetic fluctuations is required reading for anyone wishing to understand this active field.

His Lecture: April 26, 1986: "Fusion: Our Energy Future"


Theoretical Physics

Creation Date

April 26, 1986

Fusion: Our Energy Future