The Challenge of Particle Physics


The Challenge of Particle Physics


Media is loading



(This information was taken from the Distinguished Scientist Lecture Series Program 1985-1986).

Dr. Glashow, a Nobel laureate, is Higgins Professor of Physics at Harvard University. His concurrent positions include the Distinguished University Professorship at Boston University, the position of University Scholar at Texas A&M University, an affiliation as senior scientist for the University of Houston, and a consultancy at Brookhaven Laboratories. Born in New York City, Dr. Glashow received the Ph. D. from Harvard and honorary doctor of science degrees from Yeshiva University and Aix-Marseille II. In 1979 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for his research on the Weinberg-Salom theory of weak interaction. In addition to the Nobel, Dr. Glashow has received the J .R. Oppenheimer Prize, the George Ledlie Prize, and the Castiglione di Sicilia Prize. A member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, he is the president of the International Sakharov Committee. In addition to serving on several advisory boards, including the board for the Laboratory of Nuclear Studies at M.l.T., he has served on the editorial boards of a number of scholarly journals in the field of nuclear physics. He has contributed to publications as diverse as the New York Times Magazine, Physics Review, II Tempo, and Nature, as well as a number of academic and general anthologies.

His Work: Dr. Glashow's research has centered on theory of elementary particles and their interactions. His work has led to a unified picture of strong, weak, and electrodynamic interactions, and to identification of the fundamental constituents of matter.

His Lecture: December 7, 1985: "The Challenge of Particle Physics"



Creation Date

December 7, 1985

The Challenge of Particle Physics